Meeting the Standards: Induction for Early Career Teachers

4 Day Program 

back to Programs

Induction is a responsibility shared across the teaching profession. It is everyone’s responsibility to assist graduates to make the transition to the Proficient career stage in the Standards. Within that broad expectation the Professional Learning Institute plays a specific role.

This four day program will explore the practice of teaching through the focus areas of the Standards and include current research about effective learning and teaching, and how to practically implement strategies in the classroom.

Early career teachers will be encouraged to become active participants in their profession, taking responsibility for their own learning, and seeking and using collegial advice and evidence to improve their practice.

Participants in this program will be able to:

  • Describe current practice using the Australian Professional Standards for Teachers moving from the Graduate to Proficient career stages
  • Reflect on and evidence their practice to understand their impact on student learning
  •  Develop their professional knowledge and practice

Teacher

Standard 1 – Know students and how they learn

Standard 2 – Know content and how to teach it

Standard 3 – Plan for and implement effective teaching and learning

Standard 4 – Create and maintain supportive and safe learning environments

Standard 5 – Assess, provide feedback and report on student learning

Standard 6 – Engage in professional learning

Standard 7 – Engage professionally with colleagues, parents/carers and the community

4 Day Program – 9.00am – 3.00pm

South – Professional Learning Institute – Hobart (Cohort 1, 2020)

Thursday 27 February 2020

Friday 29 May 2020

Monday 27 July 2020

Wednesday 14 October 2020

South – Professional Learning Institute – Hobart (Cohort 2, 2020)

Friday 28 February 2020

Thursday 28 May 2020

Tuesday 28 July 2020

Thursday 15 October 2020

North – Tramsheds – Launceston

Wednesday 4 March 2020

Thursday 4 June 2020

Thursday 20 August 2020

Friday 23 October 2020

North West – The Point – Burnie

Monday 2 March 2020

Friday 5 June 2020

Friday 21 August 2020

Thursday 22 October 2020