Support Teacher Forum

1 Day Program for Support Teachers each Term

back to Programs

All schools are required to have a representative at the Support Teacher Forums. The forums provide professional learning to enable Support Teachers to fulfil the primary duties as outlined in the task statement. The forums also provide an opportunity for the dissemination of system messages in relation to support for students with a disability. Teachers accessing the face-to-face professional learning will have access to a range of online resources, tools and templates available through the department’s virtual learning environment.

Participants will gain:

  • an increased understanding of educational adjustments
  • inclusive teaching and whole school practices
  • the importance of quality differentiation
  • documenting learning programs in personalised learning plans
  • elevating school-wide policies and practices to best support students with disability

They will have opportunity to reflect, share, refine or create strategies, individually and with colleagues, that build on their practice strengths to support school staff in teaching for diversity through optimal learning opportunities for students with disability.

Teacher

Standard 1 – Know students and how they learn

Standard 3 – Plan for and implement effective teaching and learning

Standard 7 – Engage professionally with colleagues, parents/carers and the community

4 Day Program

The Term 2 Sessions will be delivered Online live via Microsoft Teams and ZOOM

Monday 25 May 2020 – 9.00am – 3.00pm

Tuesday 26 May 2020 – 9.00am – 3.00pm

Wednesday 27 May 2020 – 9.00am – 3.00pm

Thursday 28 May 2020 – 9.00am – 3.00pm

  • Given this will be online you can join on whatever day suits you
  • AGENDA to be on CANVAS and TEAMS ASAP
  • Michael will be presenting a live session on each day via ZOOM – The Zoom Link will be sent to participants once they have enrolled
  • The morning and afternoon sessions will be presented through Microsoft TEAMs

North – Tailrace Centre – Launceston

Term 1: Tuesday 3 March 2020 – 8.30am – 3.00pm

Term 3: Tuesday 11 August 2020 – 8.30am – 3.00pm

Term 4: Tuesday 27 October 2020 – 8.30am – 3.00pm

North-West – Penguin Community Learning Centre – Penguin

Term 1: Monday 2 March 2020 – 8.30am – 3.00pm

Term 3: Monday 10 August 2020 – 8.30am – 3.00pm

Term 4: Monday 26 October 2020 – 8.30am – 3.00pm

South – Hobart

Term 1: Wednesday 4 March 2020 – Professional Learning Institute – 8.30am – 3.00pm

Term 3: Wednesday 12 August 2020 – Professional Learning Institute – 8.30am – 3.00pm

Term 4: Wednesday 28 October 2020 – Sustainability Learning Centre, Mount Nelson – 8.30am – 3.00pm

South – Hobart

Term 1: Thursday 5 March 2020 – Professional Learning Institute – 8.30am – 3.00pm

Term 3: Thursday 13 August 2020 – Professional Learning Institute – 8.30am – 3.00pm

Term 4: Thursday 29 October 2020 – Sustainability Learning Centre, Mount Nelson – 8.30am – 3.00pm