Support Teacher Forum

Learning Focus
Student Support
Mode
Face-to-face
Start Date
8 Mar, 2023
Enrol by
25 Jan, 2023

All Forums are subject to DoE travel restrictions and health advice.

Program Description

All schools are required to have a representative at the Support Teacher Forums. The forums provide professional learning to enable Support Teachers to fulfil the primary duties outlined in the Frequently Asked Questions document. The forums also provide an opportunity for the dissemination of system messages in relation to support for students with a disability. Teachers accessing professional learning will have access to a range of online resources, tools and templates available through the department’s virtual learning environment.

Program Outcomes

Participants will gain:

  • an increased understanding of educational adjustments
  • inclusive teaching and whole school practices
  • the importance of quality differentiation
  • documenting learning programs in personalised learning plans
  • elevating school-wide policies and practices to best support students with disability.

They will have the opportunity to reflect, share, refine or create strategies, individually and with colleagues, that build on their practice strengths to support school staff in teaching for diversity through optimal learning opportunities for students with disability.

Australian Professional Standards

Teaching

  • Standard 1 – Know students and how they learn
  • Standard 3 – Plan for and implement effective teaching and learning
  • Standard 4 – Create and maintain supportive and safe learning environments
  • Standard 6 – Engage in professional learning
  • Standard 7 – Engage professionally with colleagues, parents/carers and the community
Location, Date & Time

4 Day Face-to-Face Program 

Term 1 – 9:00 am-3:00 pm

South – Blundstone Arena, Bellerive 

  • Wednesday 8 March 2023
  • Thursday 9 March 2023

North – Tailrace Centre, Launceston 

  • Tuesday 7 March 2023

North-West – Burnie Central Townhouse Hotel

  • Monday 6 March 2023

Term 2 – 9:00 am-3:00 pm

South – Elwick Function Centre, 6 Goodwood Road, Glenorchy

  • Wednesday 24 May 2023
  • Thursday 25 May 2023

North – Tailrace Centre, Launceston

  • Tuesday 23 May 2023

North-West – Burnie Central Townhouse Hotel

  • Monday 22 May 2023

Term 3 – 9:00 am-3:00 pm

South – Elwick Functions Centre

  • Wednesday 23 August 2023
  • Thursday 24 August 2023

North – Tailrace Centre, Launceston

  • Tuesday 22 August 2023

North-West – Burnie Central Townhouse Hotel

  • Monday 21 August 2023

Term 4 – 9:00 am-3:00 pm

South – Blundstone Arena, Bellerive

  • Wednesday 1 November 2023
  • Thursday 2 November 2023

North – Tailrace Centre, Launceston

  • Tuesday 31 October 2023

North-West – TBA

  • Monday 30 October 2023