2020 Support Teacher Forum

1 Day Program for Support Teachers each Term

back to Programs

All schools are required to have a representative at the Support Teacher Forums. The forums provide professional learning to enable Support Teachers to fulfil the primary duties as outlined in the task statement. The forums also provide an opportunity for the dissemination of system messages in relation to support for students with a disability. Teachers accessing the face-to-face professional learning will have access to a range of online resources, tools and templates available through the department’s virtual learning environment.

Participants will gain:

  • an increased understanding of educational adjustments
  • inclusive teaching and whole school practices
  • the importance of quality differentiation
  • documenting learning programs in personalised learning plans
  • elevating school-wide policies and practices to best support students with disability

They will have opportunity to reflect, share, refine or create strategies, individually and with colleagues, that build on their practice strengths to support school staff in teaching for diversity through optimal learning opportunities for students with disability.

Teacher

Standard 1 – Know students and how they learn

Standard 3 – Plan for and implement effective teaching and learning

Standard 7 – Engage professionally with colleagues, parents/carers and the community

4 Day Program – 8.30am – 3.00pm

North – Tailrace Centre – Launceston

Term 1: Tuesday 3 March 2020

Term 2: Tuesday 26 May 2020

Term 3: Tuesday 11 August 2020

Term 4: Tuesday 27 October 2020

North-West – Penguin Community Learning Centre – Penguin

Term 1: Monday 2 March 2020

Term 2: Monday 25 May 2020

Term 3: Monday 10 August 2020

Term 4: Monday 26 October 2020

South – Hobart

Term 1: Wednesday 4 March 2020 – Professional Learning Institute

Term 2: Wednesday 27 May 2020 – Professional Learning Institute

Term 3: Wednesday 12 August 2020 – Professional Learning Institute

Term 4: Wednesday 28 October 2020 – Sustainability Learning Centre, Mount Nelson

South – Hobart

Term 1: Thursday 5 March 2020 – Professional Learning Institute

Term 2: Thursday 28 May 2020 – Professional Learning Institute

Term 3: Thursday 13 August 2020 – Professional Learning Institute

Term 4: Thursday 29 October 2020 – Sustainability Learning Centre, Mount Nelson