Support Teacher Forum

Learning Focus
Student support
Mode
Face-to-face
Start Date
16 Aug, 2021
Enrol by
2 Aug, 2021
Program Description

All schools are required to have a representative at the Support Teacher Forums. The forums provide professional learning to enable Support Teachers to fulfill the primary duties as outlined in the Frequently Asked Questions document. The forums also provide an opportunity for the dissemination of system messages in relation to support for students with a disability. Teachers accessing the professional learning will have access to a range of online resources, tools and templates available through the department’s virtual learning environment.

Program Outcomes

Participants will gain:

  • an increased understanding of educational adjustments
  • inclusive teaching and whole school practices
  • the importance of quality differentiation
  • documenting learning programs in personalised learning plans
  • elevating school-wide policies and practices to best support students with disability.

They will have opportunity to reflect, share, refine or create strategies, individually and with colleagues, that build on their practice strengths to support school staff in teaching for diversity through optimal learning opportunities for students with disability.

Australian Professional Standards

Teaching

Standard 1 – Know students and how they learn

Standard 3 – Plan for and implement effective teaching and learning

Standard 6 – Engage in professional learning

Standard 7 – Engage professionally with colleagues, parents/carers and the community

Location, Date & Time

4 Day Program – Over 9 months – 8.30am – 3.00pm

TERM 1

North-West – Burnie Arts & Function Centre – Burnie

Monday 1 March 2021

North – Tailrace – Launceston

Tuesday 2 March 2021

South – Blundstone Arena – Hobart

Wednesday 3 March 2021

South – Blundstone Arena – Hobart

Thursday 4 March 2021

TERM 2

North-West – Burnie Arts & Function Centre – Burnie

Monday 24 May 2021

North – Tailrace – Launceston

Tuesday 25 May 2021

South – Professional Learning Institute – Hobart

Wednesday 26 May 2021

South – Blundstone Arena – Hobart

Thursday 27 May 2021

TERM 3

North-West – Burnie Arts & Function Centre – Burnie

Monday 16 August 2021

North – Tailrace – Launceston

Tuesday 17 August 2021

South – Blundstone Arena – Hobart

Wednesday 18 August 2021

South – Blundstone Arena – Hobart

Thursday 19 August 2021

TERM 4

North-West – Burnie Arts & Function Centre – Burnie

Monday 25 October 2021

North – Tailrace – Launceston

Tuesday 26 October 2021

South – Professional Learning Institute – Hobart

Wednesday 27 October 2021

South – Professional Learning Institute – Hobart

Thursday 28 October 2021